top of page

page image: Lobo Joven. Mint Museum, Chasanof Collection.

Lobo Californie. H 35 x 33 x 29 pouces,   Auckland Museum, Nouvelle-Zélande

Skate Dog.  H 16 x 24 x 9 pouces. 1995 . San Antonio, TX

   Le Centre d'art Doelger*était situé près de la digue du Pacifique au sud de San Francisco, dans la ville de Daly City, en Californie.  Les artistes résidents disposaient de 2000 pieds carrés d'espace à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur, et le climat doux en faisait l'idéal.  Candace Crockett,Joseph Haley, et

Paul Pratchenkoétaient des résidents de longue date distingués.

     Susannah Israel was accepted for the residency by the Daly City Arts Commission_cc781905-5cde-3194 -bb3b-136bad5cf58d_ en 1990, lorsque Candace Crockett a déménagé son studio textile vers le nord, Israel a été artiste en résidence jusqu'en 1995, date à laquelle le programme de résidence d'artiste a été fermé.

     Elle a reçu l'attention critique des conservateurs et des écrivains d'art,   honneurs dont unFondation Grootprix, était un artiste invité dans de nombreuses universités et collèges, a eu de nombreuses commandes.  et a exposé à l'échelle nationale et internationale au cours de cette période.  Elle a déménagé à Oakland et a créé un studio à la Vulcan Foundry, de 1995 à aujourd'hui.

 *"Le constructeur de San Francisco, Henry Doelger, a acheté 600 acres de dunes de sable et de parcelles de choux qui occupaient une grande partie du terrain entre le bord ouest de la ville originale de Daly et l'océan.  Il a construit une communauté appelée Westlake, qui a été annexée à Daly City en 1948.'"

http://www.dalycity.org/About_Daly_City/History_of_Daly_City.htm

israel1.large.jpg
bottom of page

Lobo California. H 35 x 33 x 29 inches,   Auckland Museum, New Zealand

Skate Dog.  H 16 x 24 x 9 inches. 1995 . SanAntonio, TX

   The Doelger Art Center* was located near the Pacific seawall south of San Francisco, in the city of Daly City, California.  Resident Artists had 2000 sq. feet of space indoors and outdoors, and the mild climate made this ideal.  Candace Crockett, Joseph Hawley, and

Paul Pratchenko were distinguished, long-term residents.

     Susannah Israel was accepted for the residency by the Daly City Arts Commission  in 1990, when Candace Crockett moved her textile studio north, Israel was artist in residence until 1995, when the artist residency program was closed down.

     Israel's work quickly grew in strength and scale. She received critical attention from curators and art writers,  honors including a Groot Foundation award, was a visiting artist at many universities and colleges, had numerous commissions.  and exhibited nationally and internationally during this period.  She moved to Oakland and established a studio at the Vulcan Foundry, 1995 - present.

  * "San Francisco builder, Henry Doelger, purchased 600 acres of sand dunes and cabbage patches that occupied much of the land between the original Daly City's westerly edge to the ocean.  He built a community called Westlake, which was annexed to Daly City in 1948.'"

http://www.dalycity.org/About_Daly_City/History_of_Daly_City.htm

Witness Circle. H 64 x 40 x 38 inches.

Witness, back view of figure

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon