top of page

page image: Vulcan 5 studio morning. Photo by Bill Lassell

     There is an inherent paradox when working with so responsive a material as clay. Traces of touch - fingerprints, knuckle marks - are formed, moment by moment, with relentless fidelity. Such intimate contact of hand and clay remains far beyond the process, beyond even the life of the artist; it is a permanent record of human impermanence.           - Susannah Israel                                                                                                                                              

Release
Release
Release
FI Logo_edited.jpg

Carnegie Arts Center

Firing Imagination: Contemporary Ceramics & Glass

A juried exhibition highlighting the demanding technical aspects and the wide variety of creative exploration possible in these challenging media. Works in any glass or ceramic technique, including mixed media works that feature glass or ceramic elements, were considered eligible for the show. Entries were accepted from throughout the Western United States. The show was juried by well-known artists Susannah Israel and Otto Rigan, with 51 works by 26 artists selected for the exhibition.

Susannah-Israel630x420_edited_edited.jpg

"Edgy... elle est l'une des artistes les plus fascinantes travaillant dans le domaine aujourd'hui."

Conférence californienne pour l'avancement de l'art céramique

Allegoryct_edited_edited.jpg
Allegoryct_edited_edited.jpg

"Allégorie" (au dessus) a été fabriqué et installé en 1994 à CSU Bakersfield. Il représente la culture et l'histoire de la région. Comme nous le dit si bien Faith Ringgold, le personnel est politique. J'ai reçu un prix du 510.0rg pour mon travail, qui remet en question les notions de race, de genre et de culture. Plus important encore, on m'a dit des centaines de fois que les gens voient leurs propres histoires dans mon travail.

Israel_edited.jpg

"Susannah Israel utilise la couleurcomme une partie vitale de chaque composition, et est passé maître dans l'art de créer une œuvre pleine de gestes imaginatifsand meaning."          _cc781905 -5cde-3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_         _cc781905-5cde-3194- bb3b-136bad5cf58d_           _cc781905- 5cde-3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_         _cc781905-5cde-3194-bb3b -136bad5cf58d_       _cc781905-5c de-3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_Natalie Nelson, Galerie Pence

2figs1598_edited_edited.jpg
sacreWIP_edited_edited_edited.jpg

    "Le Sacre du Printemps" de Susannah Israel est aux teintes vives et texturées avec des couleurs saturées qui se répandent des mains de la figure sur un clavier de piano.L'approche narrative intuitive de l'artiste d'Oakland est traduite en trois dimensions."

          _cc781905-5cde-3194 -bb3b-136bad5cf58d_           _cc781905 -5cde-3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_         _cc781905-5cde-3194- Lou Fancher

 "Les créations de l'artiste californienne primée Susannah Israel reflètent une profonde compréhension de notre passé collectif."          Deanna Selene

          _cc781905-5cde-3194 -bb3b-136bad5cf58d_combustus.com/california-clay-artist/

sacre89_edited_edited.jpg

"J'apprécie le caractère absolu de l'expression d'argile de Susannah Israel."

Kari Christensen, Fletcher Challenge, Nouvelle-Zélande

Susannah ISRAEL.jpg
IMG_20210403_131147745_BURST000_COVER_TOP_edited.jpg

Activiste de naissance, Susannah Israel est une artiste, écrivaine et éducatrice en mission pour la vérité. Le travail expressif d'Israël est largement exposé et conservé dans des collections du monde entier. Ses sculptures allégoriques remettent en question les hypothèses de race, de sexe et de culture. Israël a commencé à écrire des critiques d'art en 2000 pour soutenir et mettre en valeur les talents exclus des galeries et des musées. Alors qu'elle enseignait au Laney College (2001-2018), elle a défendu avec acharnement tous les étudiants, prenant des conseils, rédigeant des programmes et servant de présidente, même si elle était une adjointe sans assurance. Israël a obtenu un BA et une maîtrise en beaux-arts de l'Université d'État de San Francisco et est le seul artiste américain à avoir remporté le Fletcher Challenge Premier Award. Elle est une résidente de longue date d'Oakland.

bottom of page

from perception to realization

Allegoryct_edited_edited.jpg

      "Allegory" (above) was made and installed in 1994 at CSU Bakersfield. It represents the culture & history of the region. In 2004, I received an award from the 510.0rg for my work, which challenges notions of race, gender and culture. Most importantly, I have been told hundreds of times that people see their own stories in my work. As Faith Ringgold famously tells us, the personal is political. 

Israel.Garden back.jpg

"Susannah Israel uses color

as a vital part of each composition, and is a master at creating work

full of imaginative gesture

and meaning."          

Natalie Nelson, Pence Gallery

2figs1598_edited_edited.jpg
Le Sacre du Printemps. Susannah Israel

    "Susannah Israel’s “Le Sacre du Printemps,” vibrantly hot-hued and textured with saturated color spilling from the figure’s hands onto a primitive piano keyboard, bears a startling resemblance to its surroundings.

     The Oakland artist’s intuitive storytelling approach, translated into three-dimensions, “is intended to celebrate and serenade the garden setting.”

                                        Lou Fancher

http://www.ruthbancroftgarden.org/

Fig2_edited_edited_edited_edited_edited.

Activist from birth, Susannah Israel is an artist, writer and educator on a mission for truth. Her sculptures “confront assumptions of race, gender and culture”. Israel began writing art reviews in 2000 to support and showcase the talent being excluded by galleries and museums. While teaching at Laney College (2001-2018), she advocated fiercely for all students, taking on advising, writing curriculum and serving as chair, even though she was an adjunct with no insurance. Israel earned a BA and MFA from San Francisco State University, and her award-winning artwork is widely shown. She is a longterm resident of Oakland.